Motorworld’s newspaper №34

In the 1930s the DKW company launched a production of NZ series motorcycles that was in stark contrast with the previous models of this German manufacturer. Firstly, the redesigned motor got a chain motor drive hidden under the aluminum crankcase cover plate. Secondly, the gear box became a 4-step arrangement, and to supplement the manual mechanism, the foot-operated gear-shift mechanism was added. Thirdly, the frame base was now built of a sturdy welded front envelope to which two rear cross-members were affixed. Besides, the central switch of electric accessories was placed on top of the fuel tank, which also got larger in its volume. The front fork got welded stays similar to those with the SB 500 model

The NZ 500 model (489 cc, 18.5 h.p. at 4200 rpm) featured not only an upgraded chassis and power station, but a McPherson (candlestick) rear suspension which could be adjusted (to change the degree of its rigidity) depending whether the motorcycle was to be used with the sidecar or solo.

The NZ 500 model was much less available as compared to NZ 250 and NZ 350. Most of the manufactured NZ 500 motorcycles were taken over by the Wehrmacht, and they were used, both with the sidecar and solo, in the cavalry units, by the military police and by the SS.

Manufacturer DKW, Germany
Years of manufacture 1939-1942
Quantity produced, units 4 200
Price
Today’s value
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type Twin-cylinder, 2-stroke
Engine capacity, cc 489
Bore and stroke, mm 68 х 76
Engine rating 18,5 h.p. at 4200 rpm
Sparking Battery, left-side kickstarter arrangement
Carburetor Amal WM 76/456
Battery 6 V, Bosch W 175 T 1
Clutch Multiple-plate, oil-bath
Transmission 4-speed
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Tubular steel frame
Front suspension Parallelogram, with frictional damper
Rear suspension Candlestick-type
Brakes Drum type
Wheel size 3,50 х 19
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 200
Width, mm
   730
Height, mm
980*
Wheelbase, mm
1 440
Ground clearance, mm
   140
Seat height, mm
   740
Mass, kg
   195
Gas tank size, l
     14
Maximum speed, km/h
   115
Range, km

* – Data from the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.

This entry is also available in: Английский Китайский

[gap size=”-30px”]





[content_band style=”color:white;” bg_color=”#ffba00″ bg_image=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/background-album-blue-web.jpg” border=”all”] [container] [gap size=”40px”] [column type=”1/2″ style=”width:30%;color:white;”] Аудиоверсия статьи:
[/column] [column type=”1/2″ style=”width:65%;color:white;” last=”true”]

[/column] [/container] [/content_band]


[gap size=”40px”]

Мотомириада № 34


[dropcap style=”color:#ffffff; background:#313f4b;”]В[/dropcap] 1930-х годах компания DKW запустила серию мотоциклов NZ, кардинально отличавшихся от предыдущих моделей немецкого производителя. Во-первых, переработанный двигатель получил цепную моторную передачу под алюминиевой крышкой картера. Во-вторых, коробка передач стала четырехступенчатой, а в дополнение к ручному появился и ножной механизм переключения передач. В третьих, основу рамы теперь составлял мощный сварной передний конверт, к которому крепились две задних траверсы. Кроме того, центральный переключатель электрооборудования был вынесен на бензобак, который также увеличился в объеме. Передняя вилка получила сварные перья, аналогичные модели SB 500.

Модель NZ 500 (489 см3, 18,5 л.с. при 4200 об./мин.) отличалась не только модернизированным шасси и силовым агрегатом, но и появившейся свечной задней подвеской, которую можно было регулировать по жесткости в зависимости от того, использовалась ли машина с коляской или в одиночном варианте.

По сравнению с другими мотоциклами серии, NZ 250 и NZ 350, модель NZ 500 была распространена гораздо меньше. Большинство выпущенных мотоциклов этой модели были “призваны” служить в войска Вермахта, они использовались в вариантах соло и с коляской в кавалерии, военной полиции и в частях СС.


Производитель DKW, Германия
Годы выпуска 1939-1942
Количество, шт 4 200
Стоимость
Стоимость в современных ценах
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип двухцилиндровый двухтактный
Объем двигателя, см3 489
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 68 х 76
Мощность 18,5 л.с. при 4200 об / мин.
Зажигание батарейного типа
Карбюратор Amal WM 76/456
Аккумулятор 6 В, Bosch W 175 T 1
Сцепление многодисковое в масляной ванне
Коробка передач 4-х ступенчатая
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы стальная трубчатая
Передняя подвеска параллелограммная с фрикционным демпфером
Задняя подвеска свечная
Тормоза барабанные
Размеры колес 3,50 х 19
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 200
Ширина, мм
   730
Высота, мм
980*
Колесная база, мм
1 440
Клиренс, мм
   140
Высота сидения, мм
   740
Масса, кг
   195
Емкость бензобака, л
     14
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
   115
Дальность, км
[clear]
* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.
[gap size=”40px”]


[lightbox selector=”.gallery-icon a”] [lightbox selector=”.motorcycle-lightbox” deeplink=”false” opacity=”0.875″ prev_scale=”0.75″ prev_opacity=”0.75″ next_scale=”0.75″ next_opacity=”0.75″ orientation=”horizontal” thumbnails=”false”]


[gap size=”40px”]