Motorworld’s newspaper № 10
Test-drive video
The story of Series Four motorcycles started in December 1926 when Indian Motorcycle Co., after prolonged negotiations, bought from Michigan Motors Corporation the right to manufacture motorcycles under the Ace trademark. Big hopes were connected with Ace Four motorcycle, the brainchild of engineer William Henderson. It was a product, with which Indian was hoping to win competitive battle with its old-time adversary–Harley-Davidson, but they needed a flagship motorcycle for that. The powerful, 4-cylinder Ace Four was great for the role.

No changes were introduced into the design of the first Ace motorcycles which were sold Indian trademark (they were simply called Indian Ace). They were only repainted to match the company color—red, their fuel tank got a mascot–the head of the Chief, the word «Indian» and, ion smaller letter below– «Ace». But in August 1927 models for 1928 were announced, and among them was Indian Collegiate Four–a motorcycle with a new, high-pressure oil system, which was there to help increase maximum speed and general engine reliability.

Subsequent modification of the Four were introduced in order to better integrate the motorcycle into the line-up of Indian products and for lowering production expenses. Indian 401, a model of the year 1928, inherited from model 101 Scout all of its significant components: the structure of the holder and the outline of the fuel tank, seat stay, rear part of the frame, mudguards and fork. Differences were as follows: an auxiliary leaf of the front spring, that was necessary to support the bigger weight and, of course, the engine itself.

Indian 440, the model of 1940, incorporated all changes in the setup of the motorcycles in the series, developed by Indian engineers led by Arthur Lemon. Significant modifications were as follows: heavier frame, two-part fuel tank,five-point support of the crankshaft, twin-cast solid cylinders, chrome-plated exhaust tubes, a special design of the rear suspension using a cylinder spiral coil, multiple changes in the design of mudguards and ture types. For additional 50 dollars, magneto ignition system could be installed.

All these innovations combined with larger mass contributed to a new level of riding comfort. The Four was never positioned as an off-road machine (the main reason for it being: exposed crankshaft): Indian recommended it rather as a comfortable and powerful vehicle for travelling on roads and highways, where the motorcycle could develop a speed up to 160 km/h.

After 1940 Series Four motorcycles were manufactured for two more years, mostly per orders from law enforcement agencies. After the Pearl Harbor attack in December of 1941 all sales to civilians were temporarily stopped, and the industry, including motorcycle industry, started working for the benefit of the war machine.

After WWII Indian focused its effort on light-weight motorcycles, never re-starting the production of the Four because its price would have become astronomical, due to the inflation (well, it was a highly-priced motorcycle before the war, too, comparable to such cars as Chevrolet or Buick). Thus in 1942, the curtain was drawn on the history of Indian Four.

Manufacturer Indian Motorcycle Co., Springfield (Massachusetts, USA)
Years of manufacture 1940
Quantity, units 9 400-12 000
Price 1 000$
Today’s value 16 159 $
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type 4-cylinder, inline
Engine capacity, cc 1 278
Bore and stroke, mm 69,85 x 82,55
Engine ratinh 40 h.p. @ 5000 rpm
Sparking Edison Splitdorf magneto (or battery type)
Carburetor Schebler
Battery 6 V
Clutch
Transmission 3-speed
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Tubular
Front suspension Sprung, with driving arm
Rear suspension Sprung, special design
Brakes Drum type on both front and rear wheel
Wheel size 4.50 x 18 or 5,00 x 16
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 630*
Width, mm
1 800*
Height, mm
1 090*
Wheelbase, mm
1 600*
Ground clearance, mm
   100*
Seat height, mm
   760*
Mass, kg
   257
Gas tank capacity, l
Maximum speed, km/h
   160
Range, km

* – Data from the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.

Аудиоверсия статьи:

Мотомириада № 10
Видео тест-драйва
История серии Four мотоциклов Indian началась в декабре 1926 года, когда Indian Motorcycle Co. после долгих переговоров приобрела у Michigan Motors Corporation права на производство мотоциклов под маркой Ace. На мотоцикл Ace Four, детище инженера Уильяма Хендерсона (William Henderson), возлагались большие надежды. С его помощью компания Indian надеялась победить в конкурентной борьбе своего давнего соперника – компанию Harley-Davidson, а для этого необходим был флагманский мотоцикл. Мощный, четырехцилиндровый Ace Four отлично подходил на эту роль.

В конструкцию первых мотоциклов Ace, продаваемых под маркой Indian (их назвали попросту Indian Ace), не было внесено никаких изменений. Они были перекрашены в фирменный цвет Indian red, на бензобак был добавлен маскот – голова Вождя и надпись «Indian» с небольшой припиской снизу – «Ace». Однако уже в августе 1927 года был сделан анонс моделей на 1928 год, среди которых был представлен Indian Collegiate Four («Коллегиальная Четверка») – мотоцикл с новой масляной системой высокого давления, которая должна была повысить максимальную скорость и общую надежность двигателя.

Последовавшие модификации Четверки были произведены для большей интеграции мотоцикла в линейку Indian и снижения расходов на производство. Модель 1928 года Indian 401 унаследовала от модели 101 Scout все существенные компоненты: конструкцию крепления и контуры топливного бака, подседельную стойку, заднюю часть рамы, крылья и вилку. Отличия заключались в дополнительном листе передней рессоры, необходимом для поддержания увеличившейся массы двигателя и, разумеется, сам двигатель.

В модели 1940 года Indian 440 были воплощены все изменения в конструкции мотоцикла серии, разработанные инженерами Indian во главе с Артуром Лемоном (Arthur Lemon). Из существенных модификаций отметим утяжеленную раму, двухчастный бензобак, пятиточечное крепление коленвала, попарно-литые цилиндры, хромированные выхлопные трубы, особая конструкция задней подвески с использованием винтовой пружины, множественные изменения в дизайне крыльев и типе шин. За дополнительные 50 долларов можно было установить зажигание от магнето.

Все эти нововведения, совмещенные с увеличившейся массой, вывели плавность хода на новый уровень. Четверка никогда не позиционировалась как внедорожный мотоцикл (основная причина – открытый картер), компания Indian рекомендовала ее скорее как комфортное, мощное транспортное средство для путешествий по шоссе, способное развивать скорость до 160 км/ч.

После 1940 года мотоциклы серии Four выпускались еще на протяжении 2 лет в основном по заказам органов правопорядка. После атаки на Перл Харбор в декабре 1941 года все продажи гражданским лицам были приостановлены, промышленность, в том числе и мотоциклетная, начала работать на военную машину.

После Второй мировой войны Indian не стала возобновлять производство Четверки – в результате инфляции цена на мотоцикл достигла бы «астрономических» размеров (впрочем и до войны это был дорогой мотоцикл, по стоимости сравнимый с автомобилями Chevrolet или Buick), – и сконцентрировалась на более легких моделях. Таким образом, в 1942 году в истории Indian Four была поставлена точка.

Производитель Indian Motorcycle Co., г. Cпрингфилд, Массачусетс, США
Годы выпуска 1940
Количество, шт 9 400-12 000
Стоимость 1 000$
Стоимость в современных ценах 16 159 $
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип 4-цилиндровый рядный
Объем двигателя, см3 1 278
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 69,85 x 82,55
Мощность 40 л.с. при 5000 об / мин
Зажигание Edison Splitdorf магнето (или батарейного типа)
Карбюратор Schebler
Аккумулятор
Сцепление
Коробка передач 3-ступенчатая
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы Трубчатая
Передняя подвеска рессорная с ведущим рычагом
Задняя подвеска пружинная, особой конструкции
Тормоза барабанные на переднем и заднем колесах
Размеры колес 4.50 x 18 или 5,00 x 16
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 630*
Ширина, мм
1 800*
Высота, мм
1 090*
Колесная база, мм
1 600*
Клиренс, мм
   100*
Высота сидения
   760*
Масса, кг
   257
Емкость бензобака, л
     
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
   160
Дальность, км
   

* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.