Motorworld’s newspaper №77
Test-drive video
One of the leading Belgian motorcycle producers was Ateliers Gillet, S.A., a company, which had been delivering its motorcycles to the Belgian military forces, so when in the 1930s requirements were formulated for creating a new military all-terrain motorcycle, it got an order to design its own version. By that time, factory engineers accumulated enough experience in designing 2-stroke engines, so they chose this type of power unit for their new machine.

This is how model 720 AB was developed. The sturdy demountable tubular duplex frame carried a two-stroke engine (728 cc, 22 h.p. at 4000 rpm) with two vertical parallel cylinders. The crankshaft had two toggles turned under the 180-degree angle towards one another. A 4-speed gearbox with additional reverse gear was installed in the same case with the engine on this motorcycle. The rear wheel was driven by a chain-and-sprocket drive, and a torque shaft located inside the rear tune of the sidecar frame went from the rear-wheel center boss to the sidecar wheel.

Gillet Herstal 720 AB

Gillet Herstal 720 AF from «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

 

After 1936 model 720 AB went to batch production. A modification that had minimal differences with the standard version (e.g., a Bernadet sidecar was installed instead of the standard Belgian military sidecar) and was dubbed Gillet Herstal 720 AF was delivered for the French army.

In 1940, due to German occupation of Belgium, the production of model 720 AB was terminated, all manufactured machines were taken over by the Wehrmacht and relevant operational and maintenance manuals were prepared.

Manufacturer Ateliers Gillet, S.A., Herstal (Belgium)
Years of manufacture 1936 – 1940
Quantity produced, units N/A
Price 18 061, 4 BEF
Today’s value 9 897, 92 $
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type Twin-cylinder, in-line, 2-stroke with vertical cylinder arrangement
Engine capacity, cc 728
Bore and stroke, mm 76 х 80
Engine rating 22 h.p. at 4000 rpm
Sparking N/A
Carburetor Amal
Battery 6V, 70 W
Clutch Multiple-plate, oil-bath
Transmission 4-speed + reverse gear
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Tubular, welded, duplex
Front suspension Parallelogram, with frictional damper
Rear suspension Rigid
Brakes Drum type
Wheel size 4,00 х 19
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 492
Width, mm
1 651
Heigth, mm
1 084
Wheelbase, mm
1 500
Ground clearance, mm
   120
Seat height
   752
Mass, kg
   300
Gas tank size, l
     15
Maximum speed, km/h
   110
Range, km
   200

Аудиоверсия статьи:

Мотомириада №77
Видео тест-драйва
Будучи одним из ведущих мотопроизводителей Бельгии, компания Ateliers Gillet, S.A. поставляла свои мотоциклы в бельгийскую армию, а когда в 1930-ых годах были сформулированы требования по созданию нового армейского мотоцикла-вездехода, фирма получила заказ на разработку своего варианта. Поскольку к тому моменту у заводских инженеров имелся достаточный опыт по созданию двухтактных моторов, именно этот тип силового агрегата они и выбрали.

Таким образом, была разработана модель 720 AB. В мощную разборную трубчатую дуплексную раму мотоцикла был установлен двухтактный двигатель (728 см3, 22 л.с. при 4000 об/мин) с двумя вертикальными параллельными цилиндрами. Коленчатый вал имел два кривошипа, развернутых под углом 180° друг к другу. В едином картере с двигателем помещалась четырехступенчатая коробка передач с дополнительной передачей заднего хода. Привод заднего колеса осуществлялся цепью, а от ступицы заднего колеса к колесу коляски шел торсионный вал, расположенный внутри задней трубы колясочной рамы.

Gillet Herstal 720 AB

Gillet Herstal 720 AF из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

 

С 1936 года модель 720 AB пошла в серию. Модификация, минимально отличавшаяся от стандартной версии – Gillet Herstal 720 AF поставлялась во французскую армию. Вместо стандартной бельгийской армейской коляски, на модель 720 AF устанавливалась коляска фирмы Bernadet.

В 1940 году вследствие оккупации Бельгии Германией производство модели 720 AB было прекращено, а уже произведенные мотоциклы были мобилизованы в Вермахт с составлением соответствующих инструкций по эксплуатации и обслуживанию.

Производитель Ateliers Gillet, S.A., г. Эрсталь, Бельгия
Годы выпуска 1936 – 1940
Количество, шт около 730
Стоимость 18 061, 4 BEF
Стоимость в современных ценах 9 897, 92 $
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип 2-цилиндровый, рядный, 2-тактный с вертикальным расположением цилиндров
Объем двигателя, см3 728
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 76 х 80
Мощность 22 л.с. при 4000 об / мин.
Зажигание батарейного типа
Карбюратор Amal
Аккумулятор
Сцепление многодисковое в масляной ванне
Коробка передач 4-ступенчатая + задняя передача
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы трубчатая сварная, дуплексная
Передняя подвеска параллелограммная с фрикционным демпфером
Задняя подвеска жесткая
Тормоза барабанные
Размеры колес 4,00 х 19
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 492
Ширина, мм
1 651
Высота, мм
1 084
Колесная база, мм
1 500
Клиренс, мм
   120
Высота сидения, мм
   752
Масса, кг
   300
Емкость бензобака, л
     15
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
   110
Дальность, км
   200