Motorworld’s newspaper №44
Engine start
The first racing motorcycle of own design at the Gorky Motorcycle Plant (GMZ) was M-80 that was produced in 1946. It had a 746-cc engine with compression ratio of 9.5 and 40 h.p. rating at 6000 rpm. Motorcycle mass was 192 kg. Maximum speed was 170 km/h.

One can only guess in this case whether this design was all created at the GMZ or whether Nahum Goodkin, its creator, could use some of the results from the remaining M-75 engines. It looks as if this second option is closer to the truth, because the centralization of the motorcycle industry in the USSR made it possible to transfer technology and whole builds from one plant to another.

The M-80 had the same running gear as М-72, and it was only somewhat changed and made more light-weight. The engine also resembled that of M-72 quite a lot, the only difference being that its cylinders and overhead valve ends replicated the BMW R75 structure.

М-72 from «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

BMW R75 from «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

Several samples of M-80 were manufactured, and they participated in competitions in the late 1940s (some remaining photographs bear evidence of this fact). In the summer of 1947 a famous racer Yevgueni Gringaut, the USSR Merited Master of Sports, set an absolute record on one of the M-80s: 172 km/h.

Manufacturer Gorky Motorcycle Plant, Gorky (USSR)
Years of manufacture 1946
Quantity produced, units  5
Price
Today’s value
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type OHV, horizontally-opposed
Engine capacity, cc 746
Bore and stroke, mm 78 x 78
Engine rating 40 h.p. at 6000 rpm
Sparking Battery type
Carburetor К-37 – 2 units
Battery 6 V
Clutch Dry
Transmission 4-speed
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Steel, tubular
Front suspension Telescopic
Rear suspension Sprung
Brakes Spot-type
Wheel size Front wheel: 21 inches
Rear wheel: 20 inches
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 050*
Width, mm
810*
Height, mm
1 000*
Wheelbase, mm
1 400*
Ground clearance, mm
150*
Seat height, mm
750*
Mass, kg
192
Gas tank size, l
Maximum speed, km/h
170
Range, km

* – Data from the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.

This entry is also available in: Английский, Китайский



Аудиоверсия статьи:

Мотомириада №44
Запуск двигателя
На Горьковском мотозаводе (ГМЗ) первым гоночным мотоциклом собственной конструкции стал М-80, выпущенный в 1946 году. Мотоцикл оснащался двигателем рабочим объемом 746 см3, со степенью сжатия 9,5 и мощностью 40 л. с. при 6000 об/мин. Масса мотоцикла составляла 192 кг. Максимальная скорость – 170 км/ч.

Можно строить предположения, была ли конструкция двигателя мотоцикла целиком создана на ГМЗ или создатель М-80 Наум Гудкин использовал некоторый задел сохранившихся двигателей М-75 (разработка которых велась в то же время). Пожалуй, наиболее вероятна вторая версия, так как централизация мотопрома в СССР позволяла перебрасывать и передавать детали и целые конструкции с одного предприятия на другое.

М-80 обладал той же экипажной частью, что и М-72, она лишь немного была изменена и облегчена. И двигатель сохранял много общего с мотором М-72, с той лишь разницей, что цилиндры и верхнеклапанные головки повторяли конструкцию BMW R75.

М-72 из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

BMW R75 из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

Было выпущено всего 5 экземпляров М-80. В конце 40-х годов все эти модели участвовали в соревнованиях, о чем свидетельствуют немногие сохранившиеся фотографии. Два экземпляра машины передали по разнарядке спортобществу “Трудовые резервы”. Летом 1947 года заслуженный мастер спорта СССР Евгений Грингаут установил на М-80 абсолютный всесоюзный рекорд скорости – 172 км/ч!

Производитель Горьковский Мотоциклетный Завод, СССР
Годы выпуска 1946
Количество, шт  5
Стоимость
Стоимость в современных ценах
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип верхнеклапанный оппозитный
Объем двигателя, см3 746
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 78 x 78
Мощность 40 л.с. при 6000 об/мин
Зажигание батарейного типа
Карбюратор К-37 – 2 шт.
Аккумулятор 6 В
Сцепление сухое
Коробка передач 4-х ступенчатая
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы стальная трубчатая
Передняя подвеска телескопическая
Задняя подвеска пружинная
Тормоза колодочные
Размеры колес переднее – 21 дюйм, заднее – 20 дюймов
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 050*
Ширина, мм
810*
Высота, мм
1 000*
Колесная база, мм
1 400*
Клиренс, мм
150*
Высота сидения
750*
Масса, кг
192
Емкость бензобака, л
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
170
Дальность, км

* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.