Motorworld’s newspaper № 29
Test-drive video
The Motosacoche company is unique in its own way – it’s the only company that had been manufacturing both high-end motorcycles and excellent engines MAG, which were widespread in almost every European country (Motosacoche was a business partner of Triumph, Royal Enfield, Imperia, Condor etc.).

The story of the Motosacoche began when two brothers, Henri and Armand Dufaux, obtained a patent on an engine, which could be built into any motorcycle frame. The latest company’s thing was a motorcycle (model 720) equipped with a 850 cc flathead double-cylinder V-engine with capacity of 18 h.p.

By the early 1930s, Motosacoche bikes were equipped with drum brakes, saddle-shaped petrol tanks and other innovations of those times. The signature feature of the 720 model was a fork, which followed the form of Harley-Davidson’s fork. Bosch electrical system, Amal carburettors, a MAG engine of own design and dozens of chrome plated parts made the Motosacoche Type 720 Tourisme Grand Luxe a very attractive machine of a luxurious appearance.

The Great Depression killed a lot of small and medium manufacturers of bikes, and the Governments of France and Germany had gradually imposed restrictions on engines import. In the early 1930s, Triumph (a Nurenberg company) took a license for MAG engines in exchange for the provision of 250 cc two-stroke engine bikes and chassis (for engine mounting) to Switzerland. By 1936, the manufacturing of motorcycles and engines was decreased, and the production facilities were gradually crossed over to agricultural vehicles and stationary engines.

Manufacturer Motosacoche, Geneva, Switzerland
Years of manufacture 1931-1937
Quantity produced, units N/A
Price N/A
Today’s value N/A
Type Flat-head V-twin
Engine capacity, cc 846
Bore and stroke, mm 72 х 104
Engine rating 18 hp
Sparking Battery type
Carburetor Amal
Battery 6 V
Clutch Oil-bathed
Transmission 4-speed
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Duplex tubular
Front suspension Leading link fork
Rear suspension Rigid
Brakes Drum type
Wheel size 4,00 х 27
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 500*
Width, mm
1 670*
Height, mm
1 070*
Wheelbase, mm
1 450*
Ground clearance, mm
140*
Seat height, mm
770*
Mass, kg
     320*
Gas tank size, l
     16
Maximum speed, km/h
Range, km

* – Data from the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.

We express our gratitude to Yuri Kotelnikov, St. Petersburg, for his work on the restoration of the motorcycle.

Condition of the motorcycle before restoration.

This entry is also available in: Английский Китайский

[gap size=”-30px”]





[content_band style=”color:white;” bg_color=”#ffba00″ bg_image=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/background-album-blue-web.jpg” border=”all”] [container] [gap size=”40px”] [column type=”1/2″ style=”width:30%;color:white;”] Аудиоверсия статьи:
[/column] [column type=”1/2″ style=”width:65%;color:white;” last=”true”]

[/column] [/container] [/content_band]


[gap size=”40px”]


Мотомириада № 29



Видео тест-драйва



[dropcap style=”color:#ffffff; background:#313f4b;”]С[/dropcap]удьба компании Motosacoche (Мотосакош) по-своему уникальна — это единственное в мире предприятие, строившее одновременно и высококлассные мотоциклы и замечательные двигатели MAG (МАГ), которые использовались практически во всех странах Европы (с Мотосакош сотрудничали такие известные производители, как Triumph, Royal Enfield, Imperia, Condor и др.).

История Motosacoche началась с получения ее создателями, братьями Генри и Арманом Дюфо (Henri / Armand Dufaux) патента на мотор, который можно было встраивать в любую мотоциклетную раму. Последней же новинкой компании стал мотоцикл модели 720 с 850-кубовым нижнеклапанным V-образным двухцилиндровым мотором мощностью 18 л.с.

Уже к началу 1930-х гг. мотоциклы компании оснащались барабанными тормозами, седлообразными топливными баками и всеми другими новациями тех времен. Отличительной особенностью модели 720 была короткорычажная передняя вилка, сделанная по образцу Harley-Davidson. Электрическая система Bosch, карбюраторы Amal и, разумеется, двигатель MAG собственного производства, а также обилие хрома – все это делало роскошный Motosacoche Type 720 Tourisme Grand Luxe крайне заманчивым для потребителя.

Великая депрессия сгубила множество мелких и средних изготовителей мотоциклов, а правительства Франции и Германии постепенно приняли ограничения на ввоз импортных двигателей. В начале 30-х годов нюрнбергская фирма Триумф приобрела лицензию на моторы MAG в обмен на частичные поставки в Швейцарию 250-кубовых двухтактных мотоциклов и шасси для установки двигателей. К 1936 году выпуск мотоциклов и двигателей Motosacoche сократился, а производственные мощности были постепенно переориентированы на сельскохозяйственную технику и стационарные двигатели.


Производитель Motosacoche, г. Женева, Швейцария
Годы выпуска 1931-1937
Количество, шт
Стоимость
Стоимость в современных ценах
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип V-образный, нижнеклапанный
Объем двигателя, см3 846
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 72 х 104
Мощность 18 л.с.
Зажигание батарейного типа
Карбюратор Amal
Аккумулятор
Сцепление в маслянной ванне
Коробка передач 4-ступенчатая
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы Трубчатая, двойная
Передняя подвеска Короткорычажная передняя вилка
Задняя подвеска Жесткая
Тормоза Барабанные
Размеры колес 4,00 х 27
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 500*
Ширина, мм
1 670*
Высота, мм
1 070*
Колесная база, мм
1 450*
Клиренс, мм
140*
Высота сидения, мм
770*
Масса, кг
     320*
Емкость бензобака, л
     16
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
Дальность, км
[clear]
* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.
[gap size=”40px”]

Выражаем благодарность Юрию Котельникову, г. Санкт-Петербург за работу по реставрации мотоцикла.

Состояние мотоцикла до реставрации.

[lightbox selector=”.gallery-icon a”] [lightbox selector=”.motorcycle-lightbox” deeplink=”false” opacity=”0.875″ prev_scale=”0.75″ prev_opacity=”0.75″ next_scale=”0.75″ next_opacity=”0.75″ orientation=”horizontal” thumbnails=”false”]


[gap size=”40px”]