Motorworld’s newspaper №57

By the early 1930s, well informed optimists realized that the World War I wasn’t over and will return. So, the major Powers has started to prepare yourselves for another round, which will be called later as the World War II.

Belgium authorities understood that hiding out in neutrality is not an option. But also they weren’t going to be a sacrificial lamb. The more so, because the Belgian forces fought heroically during the WWI and who knows what the outcome of the Battle of the Marne would it be if the siege of Antwerp didn’t draw some German forces?

The best strategians has prepared for an agile actions, a mechanized war. One of them was Henri Denis, a Belgian Defense Secretary, an Lieutenant General. He launched several projects on re-equipment & mechanization of the Army and invited tenders for creation of a heavy military motorcycle. It had to be a machine, which could be used for fire support operations, supply support as well as a communications vehicle. The requirements were as follows: It must carry three fully equipped soldiers and a machine gun. Responding to this requirements, a Belgian company FN, in the beginning of 1937, introduced a heavy motorcycle FN M12.

FN M86

By that time, FN was the major motorcycle supplier for the Belgian Army; at this, the M86 model was widely used in armies of other countries. The machine had 600 cc one-cylinder engine.

FN M12a SM engine

For the tender purposes, FN designed an engine with more capacity: double-cylinder flathead opposed-piston engine having a displacement of 992 cc. It wasn’t the most powerful engine even in the second half of the 1990s – the engine developed 22 h.p. at 4,000 rpm but had a compression ratio of 5.0, which gave it the ability to run on petrol of any quality. Much attention was paid to the water- & dirt-guard system: Amal carburettor and main electric components were under a cover, an air filter inlet was located relatively high so the machine could pass through the shallow of the river (up to 0.5 m of depth). Two exhaust pipes came into the single silencer located between the motorcycle and a sidecar. The exhaust pipe going out of the left cylinder formed an arc thus preventing the pipe from collision with stub, boulder etc. that was typical for opposed-piston BMW machines. A double cradle with heavy-duty bottom pipes provided a good protection for the powertrain from bottom. From the sides, the powertrain was guarded by big crash guards.

Sidecar wheel drive of the FN M12a SM

Despite of good towing performance, Belgian engineers equipped the machine with an auxiliary transmission as an addition to the hand shifted four-speed gearbox with reverse gear. But the real innovation was a sidecar wheel drive. Drive for a sidecar wheel was independently suggested by two different inventors: Peter Mozharov (Russia) and Henry Baughan (England). In the end of 1929, Peter Mozharov built an experimental Izh-2, and Henry Baughan built a trial bike with a sidecar wheel drive (Baughan’s bikes had been manufacturing from 1930 till 1936 under the Baughan marque). The Belgians were the first who used this idea for a mass produced military motorcycle. Sidecar wheel drive was implemented via a drive shaft, which got connected when necessary (in severe road conditions). Thus the bike didn’t require a compensating gear.

Sidecar of FN M12a SM

The double cradle was made of heavy-duty steel pipes (the same pipes were used for a sidecar frame). A sidecar was attached to the frame via quarter elliptic springs (other Belgian motorcycles had the same design according to the military requirements). The front suspension was a parallelogram suspension with the central spring; the rear suspension was a rigid one. All three wheels could be interchanged and hubs were mounted in such a way that brakes and bearings are still in place when a wheel is removed. All wheels including the sidecar’s had drum brakes and tyres having big cleats. A spare wheel was attached in the sidecar’s back-end.

In January 1937, a civil model FN M12 Grand Tourisme was introduced at the Motor Show in Brussels. However, it didn’t go to mass production. In the spring of 1937, a military version FN M12a SM was submitted to the military tests. Machines covered 6,000 kms (off-road, sandy and rocky roads) for six days. Military inspectors who were scrupulously taking the records, accepted the machine with an excellent mark. The military launch order consisted of 750 units. The total number produced was 1180 machines 1090 of which were enrolled at the Belgian Army. Motorcycle units of the 1st Cavalry Division got these bikes first.

In July 1938, the FN M12a SM was introduced at the International Competition of the military motorcycles in Spa. After, sales abroad has started: Iran bought 51 units and Greece bought 33 units. Several bikes went to Germany where they had been extensively dissected. When Zündapp had been designing the KS750 , it have used some technical solutions borrowed from FN bikes.

Zündapp KS 750 from the «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

FN Tricar Т3 from the «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

 

The powertrain and some other units of the FN M12a SM were also used in the FN Tricar Т3 (a military trike) and in a light three wheel van (after the war).

Unfortunately, history didn’t repeat itself this time and Belgium failed at another valiant campaign. The Germans has crossed the Belgium board on 10 May 1940. On 28th May 1940, Belgium have struck the flag. Almost every FN M12a SM was captured as a war booty. A considerable part of these machines was used in the Eastern Front (including the Battle of Stalingrad). If you search some information over the Internet, you’ll find dozens of photos depicting happy German soldiers riding Belgian bikes.

Manufacturer Fabrique Nationale d’Armes de Guerre Herstal (Fabrique Nationale SA, Herstal)
Years of manufacture 1937 – 1939
Quantity produced, units 1 180
Price N/A
Today’s value N/A
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Тип Flat-twin, 4-stroke
Engine capacity, cc 992
Bore and stroke, mm 90 x 78
Engine rating 22 hp at 4000 rpm
Sparking Battery type
Carburetor Amal 28 mm
Battery 6 V
Clutch Single-plate, dry
Transmission 4-speed, with ф reverse gear and a reducer
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Duplex steel tubular
Front suspension Parallelogram with a friction damper
Rear suspension Rigid
Brakes Drum type
Wheel size 4,00 х 19
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 385*
Width, mm
1 650*
Height, mm
1 010*
Wheelbase, mm
1 510
Ground clearance, mm
   200
Seat height, mm
Mass, kg
   485
Gas tank size, l
     19
Maximum speed, km/h
     90
Range, km
   190

* – Data on the results of the measurement at the exhibit of “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov”.

1939 FN M12a SM

This entry is also available in: Английский Китайский

[gap size=”-30px”]





[content_band style=”color:white;” bg_color=”#ffba00″ bg_image=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/background-album-blue-web.jpg” border=”all”] [container] [gap size=”40px”] [column type=”1/2″ style=”width:30%;color:white;”] Аудиоверсия статьи:
[/column] [column type=”1/2″ style=”width:65%;color:white;” last=”true”]

[/column] [/container] [/content_band]


[gap size=”40px”]

Мотомириада №57


[dropcap style=”color:#ffffff; background:#313f4b;”]У[/dropcap]же к началу 30-х годов прошлого века всем «хорошо информированным оптимистам» стало ясно, что Первая мировая война ничего не закончила и ничего не решила. И крупнейшие державы ускорили приготовления к её следующему этапу – который потом назовут Второй мировой.
Власти Бельгии понимали, что отсидеться за бумажными стенами нейтралитета вновь не удастся. Но и изображать собой жертвенного агнца они явно не собирались. Тем более что в Первой мировой войне бельгийские войска героически проявили себя – кто знает, если бы осада Антверпена не оттянула на себя часть сил немецкой Первой армии, каков был бы итог битвы на Марне?

Лучшие стратеги тех времён готовились к войне подвижной, войне механизированной. Одним из них был и бельгийский министр обороны генерал-лейтенант Анри Денис. Он запустил несколько проектов по перевооружению и механизации армии, в том числе и конкурс на тяжёлый армейский мотоцикл. Требования к машине огневой поддержки, связи и снабжения предъявлялись довольно жёсткие: нести трёх бойцов с полным снаряжением, в том числе и с пулемётом. Но это не смутило бельгийскую компанию FN, которая представила свой вариант – тяжёлый мотоцикл FN M12 – в начале 1937 года.

[column style=”float: right;margin: 0px 5px 0px 5px;” type=”2/5″] [image link=”true” style=”border: 2px solid #878787;padding: 5px;” src=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/fn-m12a-sm-archive-web-05.jpg” lightbox_caption=”FN M86″
class=”motorcycle-lightbox”]

FN M86

[/column]

К тому времени компания FN уже была основным поставщиком мотоциклов для бельгийской армии, причём модель M86 – машина с одноцилиндровым 600-кубовым двигателем – пользовалась большим спросом и в армиях других стран.

[column style=”float: left;margin: 10px 15px 0px 15px;” type=”2/5″] [image link=”true” style=”border: 2px solid #878787;padding: 5px;” src=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/fn-m12-old-web-11.jpg” lightbox_caption=”Двигатель FN M12a SM” class=”motorcycle-lightbox”]

Двигатель FN M12a SM

[/column] Но для победы в конкурсе требовалось более мощное оружие, и бельгийские инженеры разработали новый двигатель: двухцилиндровый нижнеклапанный оппозит рабочим объёмом 992 см³. Мотор развивал умеренную для такого литража мощность даже по меркам второй половины 30-х годов – 22 л.с. при 4000 об/мин, зато его степень сжатия (5,0) позволяла использовать бензин любого качества. Большое внимание создатели мотоцикла уделили защите от воды и грязи: карбюратор Amal и основные элементы электрооборудования были укрыты кожухом, входное отверстие эффективного воздухофильтра располагалось довольно высоко, благодаря этому машина с лёгкостью преодолевала полуметровый брод. Две выпускные трубы сходились в единый глушитель, расположенный между собственно мотоциклом и боковой коляской (причём труба из левого цилиндра описывала высокую дугу, так что можно было не опасаться наезда ею на пень или валун или застревания в колее, от чего так страдали оппозиты BMW). Дуплексная рама с мощными нижними трубами хорошо защищала силовой агрегат снизу, а с боков его прикрывали развитые дуги.

[column style=”float: left;margin: 10px 15px 0px 15px;” type=”2/5″] [image link=”true” style=”border: 2px solid #878787;padding: 5px;” src=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/fn-m12-old-web-12.jpg” lightbox_caption=”FN M12a SM” class=”motorcycle-lightbox”]

Привод на колесо коляски FN M12a SM

[/column]

Несмотря на отменные тяговые качества литрового оппозита, бельгийские инженеры ввели в трансмиссию, помимо четырёхступенчатой коробки передач (с ручным переключением и передачей заднего хода), ещё и дополнительную понижающую передачу. Но главным новшеством стал привод на колесо коляски. Такую систему практически одновременно и независимо друг от друга предложили два изобретателя: русский Пётр Можаров и англичанин Генри Боан. В конце 1929 года Можаров построил экспериментальный мотоцикл Иж-2, а Боан – первый образец триального мотоцикла с приводной коляской, которые он выпускал крохотной серией под маркой Baughan с 1930 по 1936 годы. Бельгийцы же первыми использовали эту систему для серийного армейского мотоцикла. Привод на колесо коляски осуществлялся карданным валом и подключался при необходимости в тяжёлых дорожных условиях, что позволяло обходиться без дифференциала.

[column style=”float: right;margin: 20px 15px 0px 15px;” type=”2/5″] [image link=”true” style=”border: 2px solid #878787;padding: 5px;” src=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/fn-m12-old-web-06.jpg” lightbox_caption=”FN M12a SM” class=”motorcycle-lightbox”]

Коляска FN M12a SM

[/column]

Дуплексная рама мотоцикла была выполнена из мощных стальных труб, так же как и рама коляски. Коляска подвешивалась к раме через четвертьэллиптические рессоры (боковой прицеп аналогичной конструкции, в соответствии с требованиями военных, использовался и на других бельгийских армейских мотоциклах). Передняя подвеска – распространённого в те годы параллелограммного типа, с центральной пружиной, задняя подвеска – жёсткая. Все три колеса были взаимозаменяемыми, причём при снятии колеса тормозные колодки и ступичные подшипники оставались на месте. Колёса (в том числе и колесо коляски) снабжались барабанными тормозами и шинами с большими грунтозацепами. Четвёртое – запасное – колесо устанавливалось в задней части коляски.

В январе 1937 года на автосалоне в Брюсселе дебютировал гражданский вариант FN M12 Grand Tourisme (который так и не пошёл в серийное производство), а весной 1937 года был предъявлен на армейские испытания военный вариант FN M12a SM. Машины преодолели 6000 км (в том числе песчаное и каменистое бездорожье) за шесть суток. Военные контролёры, скрупулезно отмечавшие все замечания, приняли аппарат с оценкой «отлично». Компания получила первый военный заказ, на 750 машин (всего за три года будет выпущено 1180 мотоциклов, 1090 из них поступят в бельгийскую армию). В первую очередь этими аппаратами комплектовались мотоциклетные подразделения Первой кавалерийской дивизии.
В июле 1938 года мотоцикл FN M12a SM был представлен на международном конкурсе армейских мотоциклов в Спа. После этого начались его поставки за рубеж – больше всего машин приобрели Иран (51 аппарат) и Греция (33 штуки). Несколько машин попали в Германию, где подверглись тщательному изучению. Так, в немецкой компании Zundapp использовали некоторые технические решения при проектировании собственного армейского мотоцикла KS750.
[column style=”float: left;margin: 0px 5px 0px 5px;” type=”1/2″] [image link=”true” style=”border: 2px solid #878787;padding: 5px;” src=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/zundapp-ks750-201503-web-09.jpg” lightbox_caption=”Zündapp KS 750″
class=”motorcycle-lightbox”]

Zündapp KS 750 из собрания “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”

[/column] [column style=”float: left;margin: 0px 5px 0px 5px;” type=”1/2″] [image link=”true” style=”border: 2px solid #878787;padding: 5px;” src=”/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/fn-tricar-201506-web-20.jpg” lightbox_caption=”FN Tricar Т3″
class=”motorcycle-lightbox”]

FN Tricar Т3 из собрания “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”

[/column]

 

Силовой агрегат и другие узлы мотоцикла FN M12a SM были использованы и в другой разработке бельгийской компании – армейском трицикле FN Tricar Т3, а после войны – в лёгком трёхколесном фургончике.

К сожалению, история не повторяется, и во второй раз бельгийцам не удалась героическая военная кампания. Немцы перешли границу страны 10 мая 1940 года, и уже 28 мая Бельгия капитулировала. Практически все мотоциклы FN M12a SM стали трофеями германской армии. Немалая часть этих машин использовалась и на Восточном фронте (в том числе под Сталинградом). В интернете можно найти множество фотографий счастливых немецких солдат на бельгийских мотоциклах.


Производитель Fabrique Nationale d’Armes de Guerre Herstal (Fabrique Nationale SA, Herstal)
Годы выпуска 1937 – 1939
Количество, шт 1 180
Стоимость
Стоимость в современных ценах
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип 2-цилиндровый, оппозитный, 4-тактный
Объем двигателя, см3 992
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 90 x 78
Мощность 22 л.с. при 4000 об / мин.
Зажигание батарейное
Карбюратор Amal, Ø диффузора 28 мм
Аккумулятор
Сцепление однодисковое, сухое
Коробка передач 4-ступенчатая, с передачей заднего хода и понижающим рядом
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы дуплексная, трубчатая, стальная
Передняя подвеска параллелограммная с фрикционным демпфером
Задняя подвеска жесткая
Тормоза барабанные
Размеры шин 4,00 х 19
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 385*
Ширина, мм
1 650*
Высота, мм
1 010*
Колесная база, мм
1 510
Клиренс, мм
   200
Высота сидения, мм
Масса, кг
   485
Емкость бензобака, л
     19
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
     90
Дальность, км
   190
[clear]
* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.
[gap size=”40px”]


[lightbox selector=”.gallery-icon a”] [lightbox selector=”.motorcycle-lightbox” deeplink=”false” opacity=”0.875″ prev_scale=”0.75″ prev_opacity=”0.75″ next_scale=”0.75″ next_opacity=”0.75″ orientation=”horizontal” thumbnails=”false”]


[gap size=”40px”]