Motorworld’s newspaper № 4
Test-drive video
Economic recession in Great Britain was almost over by 1932, and British motorcycle manufacturers started noticing that sales were on the rise. George Brough, however, who was firmly established in the high-end segment of the market, still had problems selling his machines. His Brough Superior model range was not updated for a whole while, so it was necessary to do something in order to attract the general public.

The Brough Superior model range presented in 1932 during the motorcycle show at the Olympia Exhibition Center had only one updated motorcycle model: it was SS80 which received a rigid frame, aluminum exhaust tubes and a smaller gas tank. This machine produced some interested response, but it was not big enough to get back to the pre-crisis sales levels. Next year, during another motorcycle show in the same Olympia center in London, all motorcycle models of this brand were shown in their modernized versions. 7-inch front brakes and 8-inch rear brakes were a novelty. A new option appeared, featuring completely interchangeable wheels (including the sidecar wheel), which made having a spare wheel a very practical idea. They were all easily detachable and could be used for the preceding models as well.

Brough Superior 11-50

Still, there was no significant sales increase happening. It was necessary to take decisive measures in order to keep company’s position on the market. Thus George Brough hastened to announce the release of two new motorcycles. One was the 680-cc, budget-priced Junior—a dream of many who formerly could not afford the Brough Superior. The other one was a new heavy L-head motorcycle designed from scratch and called “11-50”.

Model 11-50 was designed as a response to many requests from abroad, mostly from police officers, who needed a motorcycle as powerful as SS100, but with a simpler, L-head engine and a lower price tag. 11-50 got a double-cylinder, V-shape, 1096-cc JAP LTZ motor, with bore and stroke of 85.7 × 95 mm—George Brough said that it was designed specially for Brough Superior. The angle between the cylinders was equal to 60 degrees, in contrast with the usual 50 degrees, which increased engine torque and was promising rides that would be more gentle in combination with the sidecar.

British policemen on their new Brough Superior motorcycles. SS80 leads the column, followed by 11-50 models. George Brough stands in the background (in the middle).

Announcing his new motorcycle George Brough was promising a 1150-cc engine, but he did not mention bore and stroke. This was a cunning marketing ploy, so typical of George. The reason was that at the time this combination, “11/50”, meant 11 RAC h. p. (RAC stands for Royal Automobile Club), which was the horsepower parameter used in Great Britain to calculate tax on moving vehicles, and 50 h. p. effective output. In other words, when the potential customer heard the name of this motorcycle model, he would imagine a very powerful machine, which would promise a great saving to its owner. In reality, however, engine capacity of the 11-50 model was 36 h. p.

The solo version of this motorcycle model could reach 135 km/h and, when used with the side car and having two passengers, it could go as fast as 110 km/h.

Brough Superior 11-50 had a benevolent reception with critics, but most importantly, with police officers, for whom in was designed in the first place. This is not surprising, since with the guaranteed speed of 110 km/h practically no law violator could escape from a patrolman on 11-50.

Manufacturer Brough Superior, England
Years of manufacture 1933-1940
Quantity produced, units 308
Price £ 130
Today’s value 9 833 $
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type Twin-cylinder, V-shape
Engine capacity, cc 1 096
Bore and stroke, mm 85,7 х 95
Engine rating 36 h.p.
Sparking Magneto
Carburetor Amal
Battery 6 V
Clutch Dry
Transmission 4-speed
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Tubular
Front suspension Castle type
Rear suspension Rigid
Brakes Drum type
Wheel size Front 3,50 х 26, rear 4,00 х 27
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 100
Width, mm
    870*
Height, mm
1 010*
Wheelbase, mm
1 448
Ground clearance, mm
    132
Seat height, mm
    660
Mass, kg
Gas tank size, l
     15
Maximum speed, km/h
    136
Range, km

* – Data from the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.


Books:

PDF

The Book of the JAP Engine (англ.)

Аудиоверсия статьи:

Мотомириада № 4
Видео тест-драйва
К 1932 году рецессия в британской экономике почти закончилась, и английские производители мотоциклов начали замечать подъем продаж. Тем не менее Джоржд Браф, прочно закрепившийся в верхнем сегменте рынка, все еще сталкивался с проблемами сбыта своих машин. К тому же модельный ряд Brough Superior не обновлялся некоторое время и необходимо было чем-то привлечь публику.

В модельном ряду Brough Superior, представленном в 1932 году на мотовыставке в Олимпии был только один обновленный мотоцикл – SS80, получивший жесткую раму, алюминиевые выхлопные трубы, уменьшенных размеров бензобак. Машина была интересной, но недостаточной для возвращения продаж на докризисный уровень. В следующем году, на очередном мотошоу в той же лондонской Олимпии модернизации подверглись уже все мотоциклы марки. Новинкой стали 7-дюймовые передние и 8-дюймовые задние тормоза. Появилась опция установки полностью взаимозаменяемых колес (включая колесо коляски), делающая наличие запасного колеса крайне практичным. При этом колеса были легкосъемными и подходили для предыдущих моделей.

Brough Superior 11-50

Однако значительного роста продаж опять не последовало. Необходимо было принимать решительные меры, чтобы сохранить позиции на рынке. И Джордж Браф поспешил анонсировать два новых мотоцикла. Одним был 680-кубовый бюджетный Junior – мечта многих поклонников марки, которые ранее не могли позволить себе Brough Superior. Другим – созданный с нуля, тяжелый нижнеклапанный мотоцикл, получивший название “11-50”.

Модель 11-50 была разработана, как ответ на многочисленные запросы из-за рубежа, в основном от полицейских, которым нужен был мотоцикл, мощный как SS100, но при этом с более простым, нижнеклапанным двигателем и низкой ценой. 11-50 получил двухцилиндровый V-образный мотор JAP LTZ объемом 1096 куб. см., диаметр и ход поршня – 85,7 х 95 мм, который, по словам Джорджа, был разработан специально для Brough Superior. Угол между цилиндрами равнялся 60 градусам, в отличие от обычных 50, что увеличило крутящий момент и обещало более мягкую езду в комбинации с коляской.

Английские полицейские на новых мотоциклах Brough Superior. Во главе колонны – SS80, следом несколько моделей 11-50. На заднем плане в середине – Джордж Браф.

В анонсе мотоцикла Джордж Браф обещал кубатуру двигателя в 1150 кубов, при этом не обозначая диаметр и ход поршня. Это был хитрый маркетинговый ход, типичный для Джорджа. Дело в том, что сочетание “11/50” в то время ассоциировалось с определенным понятием и означало 11 RAC-лошадиных сил (параметр, с помощью которого в Великобритании рассчитывались налоги на транспортные средства) и 50 л.с. эффективной мощности. Таким образом покупатель, услышав название мотоцикла, представлял себе очень мощную машину, купив которую он смог бы серьезно сэкономить. На самом же деле мощность двигателя 11-50 равнялась 36 л.с.

В соло версии с одним водителем мотоцикл разгонялся до 135 км/ч, а в комбинации с коляской и двумя пассажирами – до 110 км/ч.

Brough Superior 11-50 был благосклонно воспринят критиками, но главное – полицейскими, для которых он предназначался и это не удивительно, поскольку на гарантированной скорости в 110 км/ч от патрульного за рулем 11-50 не мог уйти практически ни один злоумышленник. Не сохранилось точных данных о количестве продаж за рубеж, однако доподлинно известно, что модель 11-50 состояла на службе в полиции таких стран, как Аргентина, Австралия и Канада.

Производитель Brough Superior, Англия
Годы выпуска 1933-1940
Количество, шт 308
Стоимость £ 130
Стоимость в современных ценах 9 833 $
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип 2-цилиндровый, V-образный
Объем двигателя, см3 1 096
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 85,7 х 95
Мощность 36 л.с.
Зажигание магнето
Карбюратор Amal
Аккумулятор 6 В
Сцепление сухое
Коробка передач 4-х ступенчатая
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы трубчатая
Передняя подвеска типа Castle
Задняя подвеска жесткая
Тормоза барабанные
Размеры колес переднее 3,50 х 26, заднее 4,00 х 27
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 100
Ширина, мм
    870*
Высота, мм
1 010*
Колесная база, мм
1 448
Клиренс, мм
    132
Высота сидения, мм
    660
Масса, кг
Емкость бензобака, л
     15
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
    136
Дальность, км

* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.


Литература:

PDF

The Book of the JAP Engine (англ.)