Motorworld’s newspaper № 2

In late 1927 the Polish army released technical specification for the production of a heavy motorcycle that would be able to replace Harley-Davidson motorcycles that the military had been using at the time. In 1932 the company called Centralne Warsztaty Samochodowe (Central Automobile Workshops) produced a small series of approximately 200 CWS M55 motorcycles with sidecars. Even though the motorcycle design was based on Harley-Davidson models (except the engine that a practically identical copy of the engine from the Indian motorcycle model), they proved to be unreliable.

Sokół 1000 M111

Correspondingly, the decision was made to design a completely new military motorcycle. The government-subsidized CWS company used an existing M55 model design reworking it to such an extent so that the motorcycle would meet all requirements of the military: providing stable performance under difficult road conditions, reliable in its design and easy to operate. This motorcycle, at first was called CWS M111, proved to be somewhat outdated in terms of technical design and quite heavy, even for its class. Yet it was incredibly robust and reliable. Quality, however, never comes cheap: the civilian version of this motorcycle was sold at the time for 4200 zloty (which corresponded to 800 US dollars or 170 pound sterling) and that was only slightly below the price of a car.

Sokół 1000 M111

The motorcycle was produced using almost exclusively local parts (only 5% of spares were imported), and it maintained its high quality level during the whole production period. Every tenth motorcycle was thoroughly tested prior to its shipment to the buyer (all components and assemblies underwent complete testing), and all motorcycles were tested before their sale under road conditions.

Motorcycle reliability was its great asset. The Sokół motorcycles were much faster than their US competition during cross-country rides. One of the main technical novelties which Polish engineers presented was the soft suspension of the sidecar: during off-road rides this made the motorcycle much more controllable and helped increase its speed.

Sokół 1000 M111

The production of the Sokół 1000 M111 was initiated in 1933 and it went on until the start of WWII, i.e. until September 1939 when Germany attacked Poland.

Manufacturer Centralne Warsztaty Samochodowe, Warsaw (Poland)
Years of manufacture 1933 – 1939
Quantity produced, units 3 400
Price 4 200 zł
Today’s value 14 117,88 $
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type Twin-cylinder, V-shape, L-head
Engine capacity, cc 995
Bore and stroke, mm 83 х 92
Engine rating 18 h.p. at 3000 rpm
Sparking Battery
Carburetor Single CWS carburetor
Battery 6 V, 45 W, Bosch RD (manufactured in Poland under license)
Clutch Multiple-plate, oil-bath
Transmission 3-speed, manual switching
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Tubular, single-piece
Front suspension Leading link with helical spring and frictional damper
Rear suspension Rigid
Brakes Drum-type, both on front and rear wheels
Wheel size 4,40 х 19 (3 wheels)
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 270
Width, mm
1 740
Height, mm
1 135
Wheelbase, mm
1 465
Ground clearance, mm
140*
Seat height, mm
780*
Mass, kg
   230 (solo)
Gas tank size, l
Maximum speed, km/h
    100 (solo)
Range, km

* – Data from the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.

Аудиоверсия статьи:

Мотомириада № 2

В конце 1927 года польской армией была выпущена техническая спецификация для производства тяжелого мотоцикла, призванного заменить использовавшиеся на тот момент военными мотоциклы Harley-Davidson. В 1932 году фирма Centralne Warsztaty Samochodowe (Центральные Автомобильные Мастерские) выпустила небольшую серию из примерно 200 мотоциклов CWS M55, оборудованных колясками. Несмотря на то, что конструкция мотоциклов была основана на моделях Harley-Davidson (кроме двигателя, который являлся практически точной копией двигателя Indian), они оказались ненадежными.

Sokół 1000 M111

Таким образом было решено разработать совершенно новый тяжелый мотоцикл для армии. Субсидированная правительством, фирма CWS использовала готовый дизайн модели M55, доработав его, чтобы мотоцикл соответствовал всем требованиям военных – устойчивость к трудным дорожным условиям, надежность конструкции и простота использования. Первоначально получивший название CWS M111, мотоцикл получился немного устаревшим технически и довольно тяжелым, даже для своего класса. Однако он оказался невероятно прочным и надежным. Качество, тем не менее, никогда не обходится дешево. Гражданская версия мотоцикла продавалась за 4200 злотых (что соответствовало 800 долларам или 170 фунтам), что было немногим меньше стоимости автомобиля тех времен.

Sokół 1000 M111

Мотоцикл выпускался практически полностью из отечественных деталей (импортировалось только около 5% запчастей) и сохранял высокое качество в течении всего времени производства. Каждый 10-ый мотоцикл проходил полную проверку всех узлов и агрегатов перед отгрузкой покупателю, и абсолютно все мотоциклы тестировались перед продажей в дорожных условиях.

Надежность мотоцикла была его большим преимуществом. В условиях бездорожья Соколы были гораздо быстрее своих американских конкурентов. Одним из главных технических новшеств, представленным польскими инженерами, была мягкая подвеска коляски, которая существенно улучшала управляемость и скорость мотоцикла при езде по бездорожью.

Sokół 1000 M111

Производство Sokół 1000 M111 началось в 1933 году и продолжалось до начала Второй мировой войны, т.е. до сентября 1939 года, когда Польша была атакована Германией.

Производитель Centralne Warsztaty Samochodowe, г. Варшава, Польша
Годы выпуска 1933 – 1939
Количество, шт 3 400
Стоимость 4 200 zł
Стоимость в современных ценах 14 117,88 $
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип 2-цилиндровый, V-образный, нижнеклапанный
Объем двигателя, см3 995
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 83 х 92
Мощность 18 л.с. при 3000 об / мин.
Зажигание Батарейное
Карбюратор CWS
Аккумулятор 6В Bosch RD (выпускался в Польше по лицензии)
Сцепление многодисковое, в масляной ванне
Коробка передач 3-ступенчатая ручного переключения
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы трубчатая, одинарная
Передняя подвеска направляющий рычаг со спиральной пружиной и фрикционным демпфером
Задняя подвеска жесткая
Тормоза барабанные на переднем и заднем колесах
Размеры колес 4,40 х 19 (3 колеса)
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 270
Ширина, мм
1 740
Высота, мм
1 135
Колесная база, мм
1 465
Клиренс, мм
140*
Высота сидения, мм
780*
Масса, кг
   230 (соло)
Емкость бензобака, л
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
    100 (соло)
Дальность, км

* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.