Motorworld’s newspaper № 31

A few years before the WWII, the Brough Superior company has suddenly moved on to Matchless engines from JAP ones. Matchless was a one of the earliest manufacturers of engines and a competitor to JAP. A flathead double-cylinder engine with 1000 cc displacement was chosen for the Brough Superior SS80 model, and the overhead engine – for the SS100. It is interesting that Matchess offered an own-produced motorcycle equipped with the same engine model. The price tag of a Brough Superior SS80 stated “£90”, and a Matchless Model X went at £60.

Brough Superior SS 100 from the «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

Brough Superior SS80 Special from the «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

In sober fact, the Matchless company was famous for its big twins since the World War I. For a long time, Matchless motorcycles had been equipped with MAG or JAP engines. In 1923, Matchless has released the M/3S model equipped with own-produced double-cylinder engine. By 1929, the family of the Matchless motorcycles had only original V-engines.

When Matchless refused to equip its motorcycles with third-party engines, it led to the creation of a remarkable engine. It was a 982 cc double-cylinder engine with a cylinder angle of 50 degrees. The capacity was 20 h.p. at 4,000 rpm. The first machine got this engine was the model X announced in 1929. In the very first advertising catalogue, this machine was described as “the most beautiful motorcycle on the roads of Britain, with its branded double silencer and an elegant petrol tank in black and white”.

In addition, Matchless released a sport model – X/R. It had an increased capacity of 26 h.p., an increased compression ratio (from 4.4:1 to 4.8:1) and nickel plated cylinders.

In 1930, the sport model was upgraded (it got chrome plated rims and an increased capacity) and got new designations – X/2 and X/R2. One year later, in 1931, sport models got X/3 and X/R3 prefixes. These models had a petrol tank of a new type and a four-speed gearbox.

Meanwhile, the Wall Street Crash of 1929 traveled halfway around the world and reached the Great Britain. At that moment, Matchless has been actively promoting its new four-cylinder flagship, the Silver Hawk. Because of bad economic situation, the development of the V-twin family took backseat but didn’t stop.

Matchless Silver Hawk from the «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

A.J.S. 35/2 from the «Motorworld by V.Sheynov» collection

In 1931, Matchless bought one of its major competitors – A.J.S. The manufacturing of A.J.S. motorcycles was moved from Wolverhampton to London. After the merger, the first motorcycle phased out of production was the 1000 cc A.J.S. Model 2, but, by 1933, this machine has returned with a new 1000 cc V-twin similar to the X model’s.

In 1938, Matchless merged another motorcycle company, Sunbeam. The new Matchless became a holding company and got the name Associated Motor Cycles (AMC). By that time, Matchless turned into the largest engine brand in Britain. Matchless’ engines were used by Brough Superior, Calthorpe, Coventry Eagle, OEC, OK-Supreme and even Morgan (cars).

During the 1930s, motorcycles of the V-twin familiy has been continuously upgraded. Because of the strong credit standing, Matchless successfully got over the crisis. However, the war made the company to sort out its priorities. As a result, one-cylinder Matchless G3L became the one of the most widespread motorcycles of the WWII period.

Matchless X/3

Although model X was itemized in an advertising catalogue 1940, only a few machine has left the conveyor in Woolwich. After the war, manufacturing wasn’t resumed. So, 1940 was the last year of the glorious history of these British V-twins.

Manufacturer Matchless Motor Cycles (Colliers) Ltd, Great Britain
Years of manufacture 1929-1940
Quantity produced, units N/A
Price £ 60
Today’s value $ 4 907
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type V-twin
Engine capacity, cc 982
Bore and stroke, mm 85,5 х 85,5
Engine rating 20 hp at 4000 rpm
Sparking Magneto Lucas
Carburetor Amal
Battery 6 V
Clutch N/A
Transmission Sturmey Archer, 4-speed
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Tubular
Front suspension Сoil suspension
Rear suspension Rigid
Brakes Drum type
Wheel size 3,50 х 26
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm
2 200*
Width, mm
840*
Height, mm
1 050*
Wheelbase, mm
1 422
Ground clearance, mm
   127
Seat height, mm
   673
Mass, kg
   154
Gas tank size, l
     9
Maximum speed, km/h
   126
Range, km
N/A

* – Data from the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.

Мотомириада № 31


Аудиоверсия статьи:
За несколько лет до начала Второй мировой войны компания Brough Superior неожиданно для всех переключилась с использования в мотоциклах двигателей JAP на моторы своих, по сути, конкурентов – одного из старейших британских мотопроизводителей, компании Matchless. Нижнеклапанная версия 1000-кубового двухцилиндрового двигателя предназначалась Brough Superior SS80, верхнеклапанная – SS100. Любопытно, что сама фирма Matchess одновременно предлагала покупателям мотоцикл собственной конструкции, оснащенный тем же мотором. При этом цена Brough Superior SS80 достигала £9O, а упомянутый Matchless Model X продавался за £60.

Brough Superior SS 100 из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

Brough Superior SS80 Special из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

На самом деле, компания Matchless была известна своими биг-твинами еще со времен Первой мировой войны. Долгое время мотоциклы марки комплектовались двигателями MAG или JAP. В 1925 г. фирма наконец выпустила мотоцикл «M/3S» с собственным двухцилиндровым мотором, и уже к 1929 г. в модельном ряду Matchless остались только родные V-образные двигатели.

Решение полностью отказаться от силовых агрегатов сторонних фирм привело Matchless к созданию замечательного мотора. Первым этот 982-кубовый двухцилиндровый двигатель, с углом между цилиндрами 50 градусов, мощностью 20 л.с. при 4000 об./мин получила, анонсированная в 1929 г. модель «X». В первом же рекламном каталоге ее нарекли «самым красивым мотоциклом на британских дорогах, с его фирменным двойным глушителем и изящным черно-белым бензобаком».

Дополнительно Matchless выпустила на рынок спортивный аналог – модель X/R. Этот мотоцикл отличался возросшей до 26 л.с. мощностью, увеличенной степенью сжатия (с 4.4:1 до 4.8:1), никелированными цилиндрами.

В 1930 г. спортивная модель была модернизирована (хромированные обода колес и дополнительная мощность), при этом обе сменили обозначения – на X/2 и X/R2. Еще через год, в 1931 г. – X/3 и X/R3. Последние получили бензобак нового типа и четырехступенчатую коробку передач.

Тем временем кризис, вызванный обвалом на Уолл-стрит в октябре 1929 г., обогнул половину Земного шара и добрался до Великобритании. Компания Matchless активно продвигала флагманский четырехцилиндровый «Silver Hawk». Вследствие тяжелой экономической ситуации развитие линии V-твинов отошло на второй план, но не остановилось.

Matchless Silver Hawk из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

A.J.S. 35/2 из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

В 1931 г. Matchless приобрела одного из своих главных конкурентов – компанию A.J.S. Производство мотоциклов A.J.S. было перенесено из Вулвергемптона в Лондон. После поглощения одним из первых с производства был снят 1000-кубовый A.J.S. Model 2, однако к сезону 1933 г. мотоцикл вернулся с новым двигателем – 1000-кубовым V-твином, аналогичным модели X.

В 1938 г. участь A.J.S. постигла известную мотоциклетную фирму Sunbeam. После поглощения компанией Matchless, она стала частью вновь образованного холдинга «Associated Motor Cycles» или «AMC». К этому времени Matchless стал крупнейшим британским поставщиком моторов. Двигатели компании применяли на мотоциклах Brough Superior, Calthorpe, Coventry Eagle, OEC, OK-Supreme и даже на автомобилях Morgan.

На протяжении 30-х гг. мотоциклы линейки V-твинов Matchless продолжали модернизироваться. Благодаря устойчивому финансовому положению компания успешно преодолевала кризис. Однако начавшаяся война вынудила Matchless сменить приоритеты. В результате, одноцилиндровый Matchless G3L стал одним из самых массовых мотоциклов Второй мировой войны.

Matchless X/3

Несмотря на то, что модель X еще присутствовала в рекламном каталоге 1940 г., лишь небольшое количество мотоциклов сошло с конвейера завода в Вулвиче. После войны производство возобновлено не было. Таким образом, в 1940 г. была поставлена точка в славной истории этих британских V-твинов.

Производитель Matchless Motor Cycles (Colliers) Ltd, Англия
Годы выпуска 1929-1940
Количество, шт
Стоимость £ 60
Стоимость в современных ценах $ 4 907
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип 2-цилиндровый, V-образный
Объем двигателя, см3 982
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 85,5 х 85,5
Мощность 20 л.с. при 4000 об / мин
Зажигание магнето Lucas
Карбюратор Amal
Аккумулятор 6 В
Сцепление
Коробка передач 4-х ступенчатая Sturmey Archer
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы трубчатая
Передняя подвеска пружинная
Задняя подвеска неподрессоренная
Тормоза барабанные
Размеры колес 3,50 х 26
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм
2 200*
Ширина, мм
840*
Высота, мм
1 050*
Колесная база, мм
1 422
Клиренс, мм
   127
Высота сидения, мм
   673
Масса, кг
   154
Емкость бензобака, л
     9
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
   126
Дальность, км

* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.