Motorworld’s newspaper №83
This small German motorcycle manufacturer dates back to the early 1920´s when Franz Bücker started a motorcycle manufacturing plant in Oberursel. The plant he used had been the one in which engines for the famed WW1 fighter plane the Fokker Dr-1 of the former Imperial German Luftwaffe had been built. Since he had been a mechanic in that plant during the war years, his mechanical aptitude was quite outstanding and his motorcycles soon enjoyed fame far beyond the geographical confines of Upper Hesse, the state in which the picturesque town of Oberursel is located.

Büсker 1000 cc

Franz Bücker realized that winning races was the one sure way to get attention and to gain acceptance for his make. Consequently, he entered a bunch of races, many of which he won on his own machines. One of the reasons for his success was the uncompromising quality of his machines, making them very reliable at a time when reliability in the motorcycle world was not necessarily a given. In order to gain the competitive advantage, he would raise the compression ratio of his street machines by welding a small dome to the head of the piston of the engine to raise the compression ratio and thereby obtain a higher power output. After the race, he would remove the little dome and voila, he had a street machine again!

Büсker 1000 cc

Initially, Bücker, like several other German builders, used various British J.A.P engines for his bikes, the largest one being the 1000-cc J.A.P V-Twin putting out 22 hp, a huge amount in those days! For comparison, the German Horex S8 with the engine of its own design, considered a very prestigious race motorcycle, developed performance of 30 hp. at 5000 rpm.

Büсker engine

Horex S8 from the collection «Motorworld by V.Sheynov»



This monster-bike attained a top speed of 170 KPH, an insane speed on the roads of those days; in fact it can be said without fear of contradiction that a driver had to have a veritable death wish to ride this fast on those pre-Autobahn roads. The Bücker thusly was quasi the equal of the two fastest road bikes in the world at the time, the Tornax 1000 cc and the ` Rolls-Royce of motorcycles´, the Brough Superior, one of the finest British bike of all time.

Brough Superior SS100 from the collection «Motorworld by V.Sheynov»

Tornax III/30 from the collection «Motorworld by V.Sheynov»


In the 1930s Bücker scaled down his model range and produced every-day-usage bikes using engines by Ilo and Fichtel & Sachs of between 125-cc´s and 250-cc´s, all two strokes. He never again attained the glory days of the monster 1-liter machine or the various victories at local races; to be sure, he entered local races throughout this time period with a 1933 Bücker racing bike powered by a J.A.P. engine but was not competitive against the more modern machines by NSU, DKW etc. Despite that, his bikes however sold very well in the upper Hesse-region of Germany and his name continued to be recognized as a builder of first-rate, reliable machines.

During WW-2 his plant build spare parts and was engaged in defense work. After the disastrous end of the war, his plant was used by the American as a repair facility for American trucks. This state of affairs lasted until 1948 when he was again allowed to re-start production of motorcycles.

Büсker 1000 cc

As was usual for those desperate times, his first models were pre-war bikes, but he did not sit still. Amongst other things, he began to design and build his own brake systems, parts of the electrical plant, handlebars, saddles and suspension parts, making him a true manufacturer in his own right. In 1949 a Bücker bike (it must have been the 16-year old racing bike previously mentioned) won the first German Championship since the WWII.

Büсker 1000 cc

He came out with the first all-new post-war design the Ilona One, featuring the single cylinder 250-cc Ilo two stroke, that trusty workhorse which powered so many other German, Belgian, French, Swedish and Dutch bikes. Due to its immense strength, they were bought and loved by numerous police departments in the upper Hesse region of Germany who used them with a Steib sidecar. Interestingly, the police version with Steib sidecar was the same one could buy at the local dealer. The strength of the standard machine was such, that no modifications were necessary.

Büсker 1000 cc

МExports to points as far away as Greece, Belgium, Holland, and Italy were comparatively successful. This is particularly interesting since the factory had no money to advertise its wares in these countries. They were sold strictly on the strength of the `Made in Germany´ label as were so many other bikes manufactured by small German companies.

Unfortunately, Bücker was not immune to the crisis gripping the German two-wheeled industry and saw his production plummet despite his rock-solid reputation. When output reached 200 units a year (from an average of 500 previously) Herr Bücker decided to pull the plug. Due to his timely decision, thereby avoiding bankruptcy, he possessed plenty of funds to start a large Ford Dealership, which he expanded to selling Glas cars, becoming a very successful automobile dealer.

Franz Bücker died in 1980.

 

Manufacturer Franz Bücker, Fahrzeugbau, Oberursel, Germany
Years of manufacture 1925 – 1930
Quantity produced, units
Price 2775 RM
Today’s value
ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION
Type 4-stroke
Engine capacity, cc 1000
Bore and stroke, mm 85 х 85.7
Engine rating 22 hp at 3700 rpm
Sparking Bosch D1BLS149
Carburetor K 125
Battery
Clutch
Transmission Sturmey-Archer, 3-speed
FRAME AND WHEELBASE
Frame type Tubular
Front suspension Parallelogram
Rear suspension Rigid
Brakes Drum type
Wheel size Front – 3,5х26, rear – 3,25х20
DIMENSIONS
Length, mm 2 200*
Width, mm 780*
Height, mm 1 000*
Wheelbase, mm 1 430*
Ground clearance, mm 120*
Seat height, mm 700*
Mass, kg
  
Gas tank size, l
 
Maximum speed, km/h
 175 
Range, km  

* – Data on the results of the measurement of the “Motorworld by V.Sheyanov” exhibit.

Мотомириада №83

В начале 1920-х годов, в небольшом городке Оберурзель (нем. Oberursel) немец Франц Бюккер (Franz Bücker) организовал производство мотоциклов. В Первую мировую войну на этом заводе Бюккер участвовал в производстве двигателей для знаменитого самолета Фоккер и вопроса с выбором места производства не возникло. Как механик, он сильно вырос с тех пор и вскоре его мотоциклы получили вполне заслуженную славу далеко за пределами района Верхний Таунус (Upper Taunus), где располагался живописный городок Оберурзель..

Büсker 1000 cc

В то время самым лучшим способом прорекламировать свой мотоцикл было участие в соревнованиях. Стоит отметить что для участия в соревнованиях допускались именно серийные мотоциклы, так что, когда Бюккер начал побеждать, это положительно сказалось на известности марки. Правда Бюккер прекрасно понимал, используя двигатели Blackburne, Columbus, MAG и JAP, такие же как и у многих других производителей того времени, гонку выиграть очень сложно. Он пошел на небольшую хитрость. Перед соревнованием он разбирал двигатель и для увеличения компрессии наваривал небольшой купол на поршень. Это давало ему преимущество в гонке, а после победы он его удалял и получалась серийная машина, ничем не отличавшаяся от продаваемых! Надежность и запас прочности, иногда излишний по тем временам, в купе с неоспоримо высоким качеством изготовления мотоциклов Bücker, обеспечили хороший спрос.

Büсker 1000 cc

Производство мотоциклов Bücker с 1000-кубовой V-образной «двойкой» производства английской фирмы JAP началось в 1930-х годах. Двигатель выдавал 22 л.с.! Для сравнения, немецкий Horex S8 с двигателем собственного производства, считавшийся очень престижной гоночной машиной, обеспечивал производительность в 30 л.с. при 5000 об/мин.

Двигатель Büсker

Horex S8 из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»



Максимальная скорость мотоцикла превышала 100 миль/час (170 км/ч). Человек желавший разогнаться до подобных скоростей, либо не боялся смерти, либо в глубине души её желал – шины и тормоза в 30-х не были рассчитаны на подобные скорости. Фактически, это был один из трех самых быстрых мотоциклов мира: на первое место смело встает «Гордость Британии» – Brough Superior SS100, а второе между собой делят Bucker 1000 и мотоцикл Tornax III.

Brough Superior SS100 из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»

Tornax III/30 из собрания «Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова»


По прошествии нескольких лет Bücker 1000 так и остался самым мощным мотоциклом в линейке, модельный ряд сократился до повседневных мотоциклов с двухтактными двигателями объемом 125-250 куб.см. производства Ilo или Fichtel & Sachs, которые продавались партиями по 500 штук в год. В 1933 году Бюккер попробовал вернуться в гонки, но даже на своем, когда-то мощном, «литровом» мотоцикле не мог соперничать с более современными мотоциклами NSU и DKW. Как бы то ни было, но в пределах района Верхний Таунус его имя навеки было связано с высококлассными и надежными мотоциклами.
Во время Второй мировой войны его завод производил запасные части для различной техники, а после войны фабрика находилась под управлением Союзников, которые использовали её для ремонта собственных машин. Бюккеру разрешили вернуться к производству мотоциклов только в 1948 году.

Büсker 1000 cc

Также, как и большинство других немецких мотопроизводителей Бюккер начал с выпуска довоенных моделей. Своими силами он начал производство тормозных систем, седел, частей подвески и мелкого электрооборудования. В 1949 году на гоночный ринг вернулся мотоцикл Bücker 1000 и спустя 16 лет одержал еще одну победа на Чемпионате Германии по мотогонкам.

Büсker 1000 cc

Основу послевоенного производства составляли двухтактные мотоциклы c двигателями Ilo (250 куб.см.) с крепкой рамой, которая позволяла использовать мотоцикл с коляской. Они приглянулись полицейскому управлению Верхнего Таунуса которые устанавливали на мотоцикл коляску производства Steib. Интересен тот факт, что аналогичную версию мотоцикла мог купить любой желающий в диллерском центре Bücker.

Büсker 1000 cc

Мотоциклы Bücker продавались в Греции, Бельгии, Голландии и Италии. Основной движущей силой продаж являлись слова: «Сделано в Германии», однако времена двухколесной техники медленно приближались к закату. Дабы избежать банкротства Франц Бюккер распродал все остававшееся у него оборудование и открыл успешный дилерский центр компании Ford.

Франц Бюккер умер в 1980 году.

 

Производитель Franz Bücker, Fahrzeugbau, Оберурзель, Германия
Годы выпуска 1925 – 1930
Количество, шт
Стоимость 2775 RM
Стоимость в современных ценах
ДВИГАТЕЛЬ И ТРАНСМИССИЯ
Тип четырехтактный
Объем двигателя, см3 1000
Диаметр и ход поршня, мм 85 х 85.7
Мощность 22 л.с. при 3700 об/мин
Зажигание Bosch D1BLS149
Карбюратор K 125
Аккумулятор
Сцепление
Коробка передач Sturmey-Archer, 3-ступенчатая
РАМА И КОЛЕСНАЯ БАЗА
Тип рамы
Передняя подвеска параллелограммная
Задняя подвеска жёсткая
Тормоза барабанные
Размеры колес Переднее – 3,5х26, заднее – 3,25х20
РАЗМЕРЫ
Длина, мм 2 200*
Ширина, мм 780*
Высота, мм 1 000*
Колесная база, мм 1 430*
Клиренс, мм 120*
Высота сидения, мм 700*
Масса, кг
  
Емкость бензобака, л
 
Максимальная скорость, км/ч
 175 
Дальность, км  

* – Данные по результатам замера на экспонате “Мотомира Вячеслава Шеянова”.